FIM Portal R2 : UocFileUpload and GenerateRequest Line 505 error

I set up my UocFileUpload control. I uploaded some small files with no issues. Then I increase my filesize, by not much. I KB to 2 KB and then it does not let me submit anymore. I get an error each time. i look in the logs and I see

Reraised Error 50000, Level 16, State 1, Procedure ReRaiseException, Line 37, Message: Reraised Error 50000, Level 16, State 1, Procedure ReRaiseException, Line 37, Message: Reraised Error 8152, Level 16, State 10, Procedure GenerateRequestOutput, Line 505, Message: String or binary data would be truncated.

What does this mean i wonder?

  1. I examined the Store Procedure in the FIM database. I got no clues.
  2. I increased the allowed upload file size to 100MB. Still errors.
  3. Then I remembered that the same UocFileUpload control is used in the RCDC config update page. I exported one of the RCDC pages and looked at the config, I copied the control from the config and made it exactly the same in my config file. Still errors.
  4. So I looked the configurationData attribute in the schema and I see its an unindexed string. Meanwhile the attribute i am using for my UocFileUpload is an indexed string. Well I had to removed all the bindings to that attribute, see my previous post on how to do that and then delete the attribute. Create it again as unindexed and now no errors.

Well that’s a lesson, not every attribute should be created indexed string. Its of course impossible to change later which is why i deafault to that but if you are using an attribute for data upload or transfer don’t make it indexed.

Leave a Reply

